Mommin' It!

Diary of a Crazy Pregnant Woman!

So this morning went like any regular school day for us.

I got up at 5:40 with my husband to pack his lunch for the day. Sat with him until he left at 6:10. When he left I turned off all the lights and crawled back in bed and did my devotional and then “rested my eyes until 6:30.

I always put on my shoes and robe before I leave my room to keep me warmer. I never turn lights on until I get to the kitchen so it’s almost completely dark in the house.

I also usually have the girls pick up all of their toys that get drug out to the living room before they go to bed, or if I’m impatient I will do it myself.

Well, last night neither one of those two things happened. No biggy, right?

56985057588__eeb00f76-98cd-4279-a555-412370d71364

Nothing in my crazy little brain reminded me that this booby trap was here. I saw it earlier that morning but I was in such a big hurry to get my husband’s stuff ready that I said “I’ll get it later!”

Well, believe it or not this black ottoman blends with the all black everything I was seeing this morning on my way out of my room. So I did not see it.

I proceeded to trip over the ottoman…

Side note: When you’re pregnant and your center of gravity is off and you’re tripping over something that comes up to your knees, you’re looking at a near death scenario!

After stabalizing myself from death cube (photographed above), I shook it off with conidence and told myself, “YOU GOT THIS GIRL!”

Took another step and tripped over the purple rabbit. Which wasn’t as scary, but still a shock after my almost traumatic incident.

If I didn’t know any better, I’d say Mr. Monkey planned the whole charade and was laughing at me!

That may sound ridiculous. But, after seeing movies like Small Soldiers and Toy Story, I’m convinced that someone’s on to something!

After I got over myself at 6:32, I poured my cup of coffee and waited for my oldest to climb out of bed to greet me. 3 minutes later, there was still no blodne-headed cutie stumbling up to me so I went to wake her up.

The rest of the morning went by like normal.

I made bagels with cream cheese for all three of us while Violet got dressed and Lilly lay on the floor pulling her difficult life together….

img_3171

When we were done eating our bagel and spontaneous cup of yogurt, we got ready and headed out the door.

By the way, it was 24 degrees outside this morning.

(Shout out to my husband who works hard to keep us taken care of, even in freezing weather! You’re the best!)

We got to the school safely. Violet got into school on time.

After she got out of the vehicle though, there was a man in front of me dropping off his granddaughter. She was upset, you could tell she loves her Papa and she just didn’t want to leave him. She was crying. My heart was breaking for her. There was nobody at the door to assist with the emotional children today, so this poor fellow had to walk his granddaughter all the way to the door.

Well, it’s like 3 minutes until everyone’s late and there’s a line behind us about 20 cars long.

So, me being the considerate person that I am, I back up and plan to go around the person in front of me who is making his way to the school door.

I HAVE A BACK UP CAMERA.

I don’t use it often unless I’m concerned about people’s safety. (LOL JK. I’m always concerned about people’s safety. It’s just not always necessary to use a back-up camera.)

At an elementary school where kindergarten kids can be unpredictable, I figured I would use it.

So, I’m backing up. Clearly a few feet away from the car behind me when this woman BEEPS at me!

Oh, it went right through me.

Here I am trying to be nice and get the line moving again and this woman honks at me. Like, seriously lady! I’m not an idiot! I know how to drive!!

So, before I go on… Anybody think I did the christian thing and just let it be?

stop sign
Photo by Mwabonje on Pexels.com

I thought about it… But, instead my human nature came out.

After I passed the parked van, I s l o w l y (Like seriously slow. Slower than the speed limit slow) made my way around the circle and to the stop sign. Where I sat. And honked my horn. For a whole minute…

At the time, it was so invigorating to sit there and annoy this person behind me.

But now? I feel guilty.

I keep thinking about how I have negatively affected this lady’s day and everyone behind her who was probably late. Not to mention there is an entire neighborhood that got to listen to my ignorance.

What do I have to show for my 1 minute of revenge? Nothing. Nothing but shame.

My 3-year-old was sitting in the backseat of the car asking why I was honking my horn.

My response?

“Because this crazy lady behind me was honking at me.”

Like I said yesterday, I’m making my way back to Jesus and I’m not perfect. But, that is no excuse for me to be a terrible person.

This woman could have been looking back at her kids and was terrified to see me backing up. She was probably worried for the safety of her own children who were in the car. Or like most people, she doesn’t want her vehicle to be torn up.

I might have ruined this woman’s whole entire day just because I was being a crazy, hormonal mess.

So, my lesson from all of my own craziness…

James 1:19-20 “So then, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, and slow to wrath; for the wrath of man does not produce the righteousness of God.”

Next time I feel like being a poop to somebody because I thought they were being a poop to me first, I  need to pray about it instead of act on it.

Doing things to annoy others in the spur of the moment can feel good… IN THE MOMENT! But, there are consequences for all actions whether it be a physical punishment, or emotional guilt!

Acting like a Do-Do bird in the car line is not going to show others the love of God, and it’s not going to make things any better for me.

So, from now on, I’m going to pray about it and have Jesus help me manage my anger instead of letting the devil drag me down for the day!

Now, I have to go. I just remembered that I heated up my coffee in the microwave 30 minutes ago. So I need to go restart it and try not to forget it again.

img_3182

Share a moment when you think you could have done better handling your emotions!

Love, Grace!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Diary of a Crazy Pregnant Woman!”

  1. Congrats on pregnancy. Check out our blog for moms and moms to be and join our community and conversations. Would love to hear your thoughts and advice you can share with other ladies. Comment on some of our various topics we have up and under older posts ☺️

    Like

      1. Awesome thanks we have many topics we would love for you to share insight on even under older posts

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.